Guidelines to get Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) Certification in 2022


CEH certificate is a program related to cybersecurity, and EC Council provides this professional certificate. The council includes this CEH certification in most of the certification programs offered. So, one could notice that this certificate is a fundamental component of cybersecurity. The below sections highlight must-have information on CEH and the procedures involved to receive this Ethical Hacker Certification.  

Who could Obtain this Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) Certification?

The Certified Ethical Hacker certificate program emphasizes areas like IT vulnerabilities, introduces hacking tools, and teaches methods to prevent potential attacks on information systems. This certification is beneficial to those who want to take up careers such as:

  • Security Professional
  • Security Consultant
  • Security Analyst
  • Security Auditor
  • Penetration Tester
  • System Administration
  • Ethical Hacker  

The versions (v) of CEH certificates are v8, v9, v10, and v11. EC-Council introduced these versions, and v11 is the latest one. These CEH certifications are accredited by American National Standard Institution (ANSI) Personnel Certification Accreditation.   

Types of CEH Certification

EC-Council issues three types of Certified Ethical Hacking certifications and has clustered them under Certified Ethical Hacker Program. These certifications are a part of the EC-Council Continuing Education Scheme. 

  1. Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH): It is also addressed as CEH (ANSI) and focuses on theoretical knowledge on cybersecurity. 
  2. CEH Practical: This focuses on skills and abilities in cybersecurity 
  3. CEH Master: This certification is provided to candidates who receive both CEH and CEH Practical. 

Eligibility to CEH (ANSI)

To study CEH (ANSI), a candidate should have advanced level computer networks’ and operating systems (Windows and Linux/ GNU) knowledge, SQL syntax with relational table handling, basic HTML, PHP, and cyber security knowledge. A Bachelor in Computer Science degree or equivalent is also a good option. 

With this knowledge, a candidate has two options of eligibility criteria:   

  • Official training: If you complete an official EC-Council training either at an Accredited Training Centre, through the iClass platform (official online training), or at an approved academic institution, you are eligible to attempt CEH (ANSI). 
  • Exam without training: You must be permitted through the eligibility application process for this type of training.  

Preparation for CEH (ANSI)

A candidate could prepare for the exam via the official material or the official training package, CEH iLearn, provided by EC Council. This package is a time-bound subscription with the following platforms:

  • iClass
  • E-Courseware
  • iLabs or Labs  

Pattern and registering for the exam

The CHE (ANSI) exam lasts for four hours and follows multiple-choice questions with 125 questions, each with four choices. The minimum score to qualify differs based on the exam. 

Once you are equipped for the exam, you can register for it on EC-Exam Centre (EEC). After registering, you need to go to ‘Scheduled Session’, opt for the exam of your choice (v9 or v10 or v11), enter the exam code, and lastly, select a date for the exam. 

  • Get the CHE (ANSI) Certification

Once you give the exam on the preferred date, you will immediately receive the result, pass or not passed. You will get the CHE Certification within 5-7 working days after you clear the exam. The certification is valid for three years. As a Certified member, you need to pay the ECE or the EC-Council Continuous Education membership annually. 

CEH Practical – Preparation

The study material of the CEH (ANSI) exam could be used to prepare for CEH Practical. However, apart from text material, this practical exam needs a little focus on the practice sessions and the lab assignments. CEH Practical is proctored, lasts for 6 hours, and is an open book exam. To clear this exam, you need to finish 14 challenges out of 20. In other words, you should score 70%. Once you pass the examination, the certification received will be valid for three years. 

CEH Master

There is no special preparation required to get CEH Master Certification. When a candidate receives both CEH (ANSI) and CEH Practical certifications automatically, he will be entitled to get the CEH Master Certification. 


If you want to find a career in ethical hacking, the information explained above provides details on receiving legible Cyber Security Certification programs. In that regard, EC-Council offers Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) Certification, which will certify the practitioner to do ethical hacking.  

Previous articleHow to Buy Refrigerators for Couples?
Next articleWhat Are the Benefits of Using Indoor Fixed Smd Screen?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here